History of burundi

A kingdom founded in the 16th century

 

Knowledge of the origins of Burundi is based on oral tradition and archeology. According to one of the founding legends, the Burundian nation was founded by a man called Cambarantama from Buha on the shores of Lake Tanganyika.

The first archaeological traces of a Burundian state date back to the 16th century in the east of its current borders. It then gradually expanded, competing with Rwanda. It experienced its greatest expansion during the reign of Ntare IV, who ruled the country from 1796 to 1850 and doubled its area.

The kingdom of Burundi is characterized by a strong social hierarchy and economic exchanges of a tributary nature. The king, (mwami), is at the head of a princely aristocracy (ganwa) holding the majority of the lands and takes a tribute on the crops and herds of the farmers who exploit them. In the middle of the 18th century, the royal family consolidated its authority over the land, production, and distribution by developing a system of patronage, the ubugabire, the population receiving royal protection in exchange for its production.

 

German East Africa

 

The first European explorers and missionaries made brief incursions into the region from 1856. Unlike his Rwandan counterpart, who accepted the German proposals, King Mwezi IV Gisabo opposed any Western interference, refusing to wear European clothing and prohibiting the presence of missionaries and administrators. From 1899, the German forces inflicted heavy losses on the armies of the king but without achieving victory. They then support one of the king's sons-in-law, Maconco, in a revolt against the sovereign, which forces Gisabo to make them allegiance to control the insurrection. German East Africa, established in 1891, officially annexed Burundi and the adjacent small kingdoms on the eastern shores of Lake Tanganyika on June 6, 1903.

 

Belgian colonial empire

 

In 1916, during the First World War, Belgian troops landed in the region. At the end of the war, Germany lost all its colonies and, at the Versailles conference in 1919, the kingdom of Belgium obtained a mandate over the province of Ruanda-Urundi, made up of present-day Rwanda and Burundi, a mandate renewed by the League of Nations in 1923. The kingdoms bordering the eastern shore of Tanganyika are, for their part, attributed to the protectorate of Tanganyika administered by the United Kingdom. Belgium administers the territory indirectly, relying on the Tutsi aristocracy.

After the Second World War, Ruanda-Urundi became a trust territory of the United Nations Organization under Belgian administrative authority. On November 10, 1959, Belgium agreed to reform the policy and legalized the multiparty system. Two political parties are emerging: the Union for National Progress (UPRONA), a multi-ethnic party founded and led by the Tutsi prince and Prime Minister Louis Rwagasore and the Christian Democratic Party, supported by Belgium.

 

Independence (1962 -...)

In the legislative elections of September 18, 1961, the Burundians chose the Union for National Progress (UPRONA) and its leader Prince Louis Rwagasore. A month later, on October 13, Prince Rwagasore is assassinated. The country's independence was proclaimed on July 1, 1962, the date then was chosen to celebrate the national holiday, and King Mwambutsa IV established a regime of constitutional monarchy.

 

Post-colonial era: a succession of massacres and coups

 

The history of Burundi, since the first years of its independence in 1962, has been marked by ethnic violence complicated by a bitter struggle for power within the Tutsi, who will first rule the country.

The Hutu are by far the most numerous, representing around 85% of the population (10.5 million inhabitants in 2013), while the Tutsi constitute 14%.

In 1972, a Hutu insurrection broke out against the government than in the hands of the Tutsi minority, marked by the killings of Tutsi. The repression quickly turned into systematic massacres of members of the Hutu elite, causing an estimated 100,000 to 300,000 deaths. In 1988, new massacres bloodied the country.

 

In 1976, a coup d'état brought Jean-Baptiste Bagaza to power. In 1987, he was overthrown and Pierre Buyoya who became head of state. The assassination of the first Hutu president, Melchior Ndadaye, in October 1993 in an attempted coup d'état fomented by Tutsi soldiers, is followed by massacres. The assassination started a civil war between the army, led by the Tutsi ethnic group, and the Hutu rebels.

 

Mr. Ndadaye's successor, Cyprien Ntaryamira, was killed in April 1994, along with Rwandan President Juvénal Habyarimana, whose plane was shot down in Kigali.

 

In July 1996, a coup d'état brought Pierre Buyoya back to power, who began negotiations with the political and armed opposition. A peace agreement was signed in 2000 in Arusha (Tanzania), but the two main rebel movements refused to join it.

At the end of 2003, the main rebellion, the National Council for the Defense of Democracy - Forces for the Defense of Democracy (Cndd-FDD), laid down their arms.

 

In 2006, the government and the rebels of the National Liberation Forces (FNL) signed a cease-fire. The civil war from 1993 to 2006 killed nearly 300,000 people, mostly civilians, and ruined its economy.

Since the last elections in 2010, the country has experienced an upsurge in armed violence, including several incursions by rebel groups based in the neighboring Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In June 2010, Nkurunziza was re-elected for a second term in a presidential election where he was alone in the running - almost all of the opposition boycotted the poll, alleging fraud. The Cndd-FDD obtains a very large victory in legislative and senatorial elections. He was re-elected in 2015, still in the same climate of suspicion. He announces not to run for a 4th term in 2020. 

Ce dernier remporte l'élection présidentielle, marquée par des fraudes massives et l'interdiction de la présence d'observateurs étrangers. Il est investi le 18 juin 2020 suite au décès inopiné de l'ancien président Pierre Nkurunziza.

 

The landlocked country in central Africa, bordering Rwanda, Tanzania and the Democratic Republic of Congo, Burundi is one of the smallest states in Africa (27,834 km2) and one of the most densely populated in the continent. The Catholic Church represents between 75% and 80% of the population.

 

Burundi is an agricultural country, peasants constituting 89% of the population. The economy is based on exports of coffee and tea, but the war has devastated the country, one of the poorest on the planet, which lives on an infusion of international aid. 67% of the population lives below the poverty line. In 2018, GNI per capita was $ 280.

Histoire du burundi

 Un royaume fondé au 16e siècle

 

La connaissance des origines du Burundi repose sur la tradition orale et sur l'archéologie. Selon une des légendes fondatrices, la nation burundaise a été fondée par un homme appelé Cambarantama originaire du Buha sur les rives du lac Tanganyika.

Les premières traces archéologiques d'un État burundais remontent au XVIe siècle dans l'est de ses frontières actuelles. Il s'est ensuite peu à peu étendu, en compétition avec le Rwanda. Il a connu sa plus grande expansion sous le règne de Ntare IV, qui a dirigé le pays de 1796 à 1850 et a doublé sa superficie.

Le royaume du Burundi est caractérisé par une forte hiérarchie sociale et des échanges économiques d'ordre tributaire. Le roi, (mwami), est à la tête d'une aristocratie princière (ganwa) détenant la majorité des terres, et prélève un tribut sur les récoltes et troupeaux des fermiers qui les exploitent. Au milieu du XVIIIe siècle, la famille royale consolida son autorité sur la terre, la production et la distribution en développant un système de patronage, l'ubugabire, la population recevant la protection royale en échange de sa production.

 

Afrique orientale allemande

 

Les premiers explorateurs et missionnaires européens font de brèves incursions dans la région à partir de 1856. Contrairement à son homologue rwandais, qui accepte les propositions allemandes, le roi Mwezi IV Gisabo s'oppose à toute ingérence occidentale, refusant de porter des vêtements européens et interdisant la présence de missionnaires et d'administrateurs. À partir de 1899, les forces allemandes infligent de lourdes pertes aux armées du roi mais sans parvenir à la victoire. Elles soutiennent alors l'un des beaux-fils du roi, Maconco, dans une révolte contre le souverain, ce qui contraint Gisabo à leur faire allégeance pour maîtriser l'insurrection. L'Afrique orientale allemande, établie en 1891, annexe officiellement le Burundi et les petits royaumes adjacents sur les rives orientales du lac Tanganyika le 6 juin 1903.

 

Empire colonial belge

 

En 1916, pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les troupes belges débarquent dans la région. Au sortir de la guerre, l'Allemagne perd toutes ses colonies et, lors de la conférence de Versailles en 1919, le royaume de Belgique obtient un mandat sur la province du Ruanda-Urundi, constituée des Rwanda et Burundi actuels, mandat renouvelé par la Société des nations en 1923. Les royaumes bordant la rive orientale du Tanganyika sont, quant à eux, attribués au protectorat du Tanganyika administré par le Royaume-Uni. La Belgique administre le territoire de manière indirecte, en s'appuyant sur l'aristocratie tutsis.

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Ruanda-Urundi devient un territoire sous tutelle de l'Organisation des nations unies sous autorité administrative belge. Le 10 novembre 1959, la Belgique accepte de réformer la politique et légalise le multipartisme. Deux partis politiques émergent : l'Union pour le progrès national (UPRONA), un parti multiethnique fondé et dirigé par le prince tutsi et Premier ministre Louis Rwagasore et le Parti chrétien-démocrate, soutenu par la Belgique.

 

Indépendance (1962-...)

Aux élections législatives du 18 septembre 1961, les Burundais choisissent l'Union pour le progrès national (UPRONA) et son chef de file le prince Louis Rwagasore. Un mois plus tard, le 13 octobre, le prince Rwagasore est assassiné. L'indépendance du pays est proclamée le 1er juillet 1962, date alors choisie pour célébrer la fête nationale, et le roi Mwambutsa IV établit un régime de monarchie constitutionnelle.

 

Epoque post-coloniale : une succession de massacres et de coups d’état

L’histoire du Burundi, depuis les premières années de son indépendance en 1962, est marquée par des violences ethniques compliquées par une lutte acharnée pour le pouvoir au sein des Tutsi, qui vont d’abord diriger le pays.

Les Hutu sont de loin les plus nombreux, représentant environ 85% de la population (10,5 millions d’habitants en 2013), alors que les Tutsi en constituent 14%.

En 1972, une insurrection hutu éclate contre le pouvoir alors aux mains de la minorité tutsi, marquée par des tueries de Tutsi. La répression se mue rapidement en massacres systématiques des membres de l’élite hutu, faisant, selon les estimations, entre 100. 000 et 300. 000 morts. En 1988, de nouveaux massacres ensanglantent le pays.

En 1976, un coup d’État porte au pouvoir Jean-Baptiste Bagaza. En 1987, il est renversé et Pierre Buyoya qui devient chef de l’État. L’assassinat du premier président hutu, Melchior Ndadaye, en octobre 1993 dans une tentative de coup d’État fomentée par des militaires tutsi, est suivi de massacres. L’assassinat déclenche une guerre civile entre l’armée, dirigée par l’ethnie tutsi, et les rebelles hutu.

Le successeur de M. Ndadaye, Cyprien Ntaryamira, est tué en avril 1994, en même temps que le président rwandais Juvénal Habyarimana, dont l’avion est abattu à Kigali.

En juillet 1996, un coup d’État ramène au pouvoir Pierre Buyoya, qui entame des négociations avec l’opposition politique et armée. Un accord de paix est signé en 2000 à Arusha (Tanzanie), mais les deux principaux mouvements rebelles refusent de s’y associer.

Fin 2003, la principale rébellion, le Conseil national pour la défense de la démocratie – Forces pour la défense de la démocratie (Cndd-FDD), dépose les armes.

En 2006, le gouvernement et les rebelles des Forces nationales de libération (FNL) signent un cessez-le-feu. La guerre civile, de 1993 à 2006, a fait près de 300. 000 morts, essentiellement des civils, et ruiné son économie.

Depuis les dernières élections en 2010, le pays connaît une recrudescence de la violence armée et notamment plusieurs incursions de groupes rebelles basés en République démocratique du Congo voisine.

En juin 2010, Nkurunziza est réélu pour un second mandat lors d’une présidentielle où il était seul en lice — la quasi-totalité de l’opposition boycotte le scrutin, arguant de fraudes. Le Cndd-FDD obtient une très large victoire aux législatives et sénatoriales. Il est réélu en 2015, toujours dans le même climat de suspicion. Le président sortant P. Nkurunziza n'étant plus candidat aux élections présidentielles de 2020, le parti au pouvoir, CNDD-FDD a désigné son Secrétaire Général, le général Evarsite Nadayishimiye. Ce dernier remporte l'élection présidentielle, marquée par des fraudes massives et l'interdiction de la présence d'observateurs étrangers. Il est investi le 18 juin 2020 suite au décès inopiné de l'ancien président Pierre Nkurunziza.

Pays enclavé d’Afrique centrale, limitrophe du Rwanda, de la Tanzanie et de la République démocratique du Congo, le Burundi est l’un des plus petits États d’Afrique (27. 834 km2) et l’un des plus densément peuplés du continent. L’Église catholique représente entre 75% et 80% de la population.

 

Le Burundi est un pays agricole, les paysans constituant 89% de la population. L’économie est fondée sur les exportations de café et de thé, mais la guerre a dévasté le pays, l’un des plus pauvres de la planète, qui vit sous perfusion de l’aide internationale. 67% de la population vit en dessous du seuil de pauvreté. En 2018, le RNB par habitant s’élevait à 280 dollars.

Logo_URBA_OK_RVB.png

L'histoire commune façonne les amitiés

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

© 2020 by studio 4 - URBA KBAU