FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Visite_régulière_du_médecin_de_l'Etat

WHAT WERE THE HUMAN RELATIONSHIPS IN BELGIAN CONGO?

Belgium, without imperialist ambition, had no colonial vocation. It had taken over the Congo in 1908 to act on the recommendations of a commission of inquiry commissioned by its King, Leopold II, also sovereign of the Independent State of the Congo, whose existence was disputed by the great ...

Visite_du_Roi_Baudouin_a_l'ecole_centr_a

CAN WE TALK ABOUT

PATERNALISM?

The Belgian system had its peculiarities, however, which made it qualify as "paternalistic". Belgium having inherited from the Congo almost unwillingly, from a King accused of exploiting his African subjects in an outrageous manner, wanted at all costs to end ...  

Petit bac sur la Nzoro 1931.jpg

THERE WAS

DISCRIMINATION

IN CONGO ?

All this legislation was obviously discriminatory, since it concerned only the natives: the Whites had to, by themselves or by their employers, individually finance their security and their social protection. We considered that the level ...  

Police_Léo_1939.jpg

HOW CONGO

DID HE TAKE THE WAY

INDEPENDENCE?

The most delicate problem concerned the "advanced", who considered that they had reached the level of education and training of whites. A special status was conferred on them after an investigation into their occupations and their way of life, which had to be of the "European" style. They felt that they were ...
 

Read more...
Eville  Cec  habit  agents congo  Brasse

WERE THERE ANY CRIMES COMMITTED

BY OR UNDER LEOPOLD II?

Serious historians, critics of Leopold II, such as Jean Stengers; Belgian politicians who at the time of Leopold II were virulent against him, such as the great socialist leader Emile Vandervelde, all agreed that ...
 

Holocauste_oublie%CC%81_edited.jpg

WAS THERE A "FORGOTTEN HOLOCAUST" FROM THE TIME OF THE INDEPENDENT STATE OF CONGO?

Did one, ten, twelve or thirteen million Congolese perish during the reign of Leopold II over the Independent State of the Congo? Again, the scattering of figures ...

Sèchage_des_baies_de_café_1931-1932.jp

THE COLONIZATION DIDN'T HAVE ANOTHER PURPOSE

THAT THE ENRICHMENT OF THE COLONIZERS?

Let us quickly pass on the ancient colonizations: the Phoenician and the Greek had ...

Plantation_de_caféiers_à_Kurukwata_193

COLONIZERS

DO NOT REDUCE

BLACKS IN SLAVERY?

On the contrary, they released them despite the violent shock of the arrival of a revolutionary lifestyle by contrast with the customs in place. For the vast majority of African societies, slavery ...

Enfants_europeens_et_burundais__à_l'éc

RACIAL DESCRIMINATION,

WAGE DIFFERENCES?

Racial discrimination is not unique to colonial societies ...

stanley.jpg

WHY ARE "BOYS" USED?

Why couldn't white people do their housework themselves, as they usually do in Europe? Didn't the "boys" actually reveal the odious character that the metropolitan ...

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

Visite_régulière_du_médecin_de_l'Etat

QUELS ÉTAIENT LES RAPPORTS HUMAINS AU CONGO BELGE ?

La Belgique, sans ambition impérialiste, n'avait aucune vocation coloniale. Elle avait repris le Congo en 1908 pour donner suite aux recommandations d'une commission d'enquête diligentée par son Roi, Léopold II, souverain également de l Etat Indépendant du Congo, dont l'existence était contestée par les grandes...

Visite_du_Roi_Baudouin_a_l'ecole_centr_a

PEUT-ON PARLER

DE PATERNALISME ?

Le système belge avait cependant ses particularités, qui l'ont fait qualifier de "paternaliste". La Belgique ayant hérité du Congo presque contre son gré, d'un Roi accusé d'exploiter ses sujets africains de façon outrancière, voulait à tout prix mettre fin... 

Petit bac sur la Nzoro 1931.jpg

IL Y AVAIT-IL

DES DISCRIMINATIONS

AU CONGO ?

Toute cette législation était évidemment discriminatoire, puisqu'elle concernait les seuls indigènes : les Blancs devaient, par eux-mêmes ou par leurs employeurs, financer individuellement leur sécurité et leur protection sociale. On considérait en effet que le niveau... 

Police_Léo_1939.jpg

COMMENT LE CONGO

A-T-IL PRIS LE CHEMIN

DE L'INDÉPENDANCE ?

Le problème le plus délicat concernait les "évolués", qui estimaient avoir atteint le niveau d'éducation et d'instruction des blancs. Un statut spécial leur était conféré après enquête sur leurs occupations et leur mode de vie, qui devaient être du style "européen". Ils s'estimaient alors...
 

Eville  Cec  habit  agents congo  Brasse

IL Y A-T-IL EU DES CRIMES COMMIS AU CONGO

PAR OU SOUS LÉOPOLD II ?

Les historiens sérieux, critiques de Léopold II, tel Jean Stengers; les politiciens belges qui à l'époque de Léopold II se sont montrés virulents contre lui, tel e.a. le grand leader socialiste Emile Vandervelde, se sont tous accordés pour relever que...
 

Holocauste_oublie%CC%81_edited.jpg

IL Y A-T-IL EU UN "HOLOCAUSTE OUBLIÉ" DU TEMPS DE L'ÉTAT INDÉPENDANT DU CONGO?

Un, dix, douze ou treize millions de Congolais auraient- ils péri durant le règne de Léopold II sur l'Etat Indépendant du Congo ? De nouveau, la dispersion des chiffres...

Sèchage_des_baies_de_café_1931-1932.jp

LA COLONISATION N'AVAIT-ELLE D'AUTRE BUT

QUE l'ENRICHISSEMENT DES COLONISATEURS ?

Passons rapidement sur les colonisations antiques : la phénicienne et la grecque avaient...

Plantation_de_caféiers_à_Kurukwata_193

LES COLONISATEURS

NE RÉDUISIRENT-ILS PAS

LES NOIRS EN ESCLAVAGE ?

Au contraire, ils les en libérèrent malgré le choc violent de l’arrivée d’un mode de vie révolutionnaire par constraste avec les coutumes en place. Pour la grande majorité des sociétés africaines, l'esclavagisme...

Enfants_europeens_et_burundais__à_l'éc

DESCRIMINATION RACIALE,

 DIFFÉRENCES DE SALAIRES?

La discrimination raciale n'est pas propre aux sociétés coloniales...

stanley.jpg

POURQUOI RECOURAIT-ON AUX "BOYS" ?

Pourquoi les Blancs ne pouvaient-ils accomplir eux-mêmes leurs travaux domestiques, comme ils le font en général en Europe ? Les "boys" ne révélaient-ils pas en réalité le caractère odieux que les métropolitains...
 

Logo_URBA_OK_RVB.png

L'histoire commune façonne les amitiés

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

© 2020 by studio 4 - URBA KBAU