Decolonization

The 20th century: a century too short for too rapid decolonization?

 

For many historians and chroniclers, this century would have lasted only the time of human life: 75 years, from the start of the First World War, in 1914, to the fall of the Berlin Wall, in 1989. Previously, the Belle Period at the beginning of the century would only have extended a long nineteenth century, marked by the rise of the bourgeoisie, winning out of social and economic revolutions until the end of the First World War. After 1989, we entered the century of globalization under the hegemony of a single superpower.

 

Decolonization

 

The history and the future of decolonization lie in the evolution which has just been described. It begins at the end of the short 18th century (from the death of Louis XIV and the end of absolutisms of divine right to the French Revolution) with the independence of the United States of America, followed quickly by that of the Latin American countries. The result, not resentment of grudges against the former rulers, but the three solidarities from the language community: Anglo-Saxon, Hispanic and Portuguese, which overlap with the Francophonie and Zionism the "civilizational" categories from Huttington. These first decolonizations contradictorily consolidate colonizations carried out at the cost of eliminating indigenous cultures

 

President Wilson, Consular Independence, and Mandates

 

Thus the first message of President Wilson (1913) and his Fourteen Points (1918), the fifth of which provided for the consensual settlement between administrators and administered of colonial problems, closely followed the relegation to Reserves of the last surviving Indians of the conquest of the 'West (1890). The contradiction escaped the President. For him, the ideas of the Philanthropists and Humanitarianism of the end of the 18th century, who had inspired the Declaration of Independence of the United States, were inherent in American culture, which could assert itself as exclusive in its New World since the Indian problem was settled.

 

In the meantime, moreover, hadn't the British forced the Boers of South Africa into the Grand Trek by forcing them to shut themselves up in these sorts of white ethnic reserves that were the States of Orange and Transvaal?

 

The creation of the Mandates by the League of Nations (1919) was, therefore, part of the consensual decolonization recommended by President Wilson. In the butchering of the Ottoman Empire, Egypt, Iraq, and Syria quickly become independent by mutual agreement with the mandatory power, Great Britain, followed rather unwillingly in France by Lebanon, who anticipate the decline of his influence in the Arab countries.

 

But in Palestine, self-determination is not left to the Palestinians: they will have to accept the establishment of large Jewish settlements and, ultimately, the creation of a State of Israel, and thus bear the consequences of the Shoah and all the anti-Semitisms of East and West.

In the debris of the German Empire in Black Africa, Togoland, Cameroon, Ruanda-Urundi, East Africa, Namibia, whose political maturity seemed less advanced, the agents will have the task of making them evolve towards self-determination.

 

The absurdity already apparent in the Middle East is confirmed in Africa when the mandated territories can be governed in fact according to the same rules and by the same administrations as the neighboring colonies, while their legal status and their destinies were in principle different.

 

From the Atlantic Charter to Bandoeng

 

The movement continues with the Anglo-American Atlantic Charter (1941), the independence of India, Ceylon and Burma negotiated between Great Britain and its Asian colonies, without any international settlement on the status of dependent territories. The obligations and control of agents are simply strengthened. In Africa, the mandate is transformed into trusteeship, which underlines its temporary nature, and the obligation to quickly lead the governed to adulthood, while nothing similar is planned for the colonies to which these territories are attached. From there will be born later the problem of Namibia which South Africa will consider as coming under its sovereignty.

 

As we have seen, only the contradictory interpretations of the San Francisco Charter on Human Rights will emerge: for Western countries, this resulted in the obligation to pursue policies of self-determination, which became independent after the Bandoeng non-aligned conference (1955), and on the Soviet side the maintenance and strengthening of the Stalinist empire.

 

France will prefer to consensual independence "association" agreements with Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia and, concerning Black Africa, the Brazzaville Conference heralding a Franco-African community: it thus maintains hegemony in its former colonial empire at what it imagines to be the lowest price. But the Independences negotiated according to the Anglo-Saxon pattern continue in Sudan, Jordan, Libya and the Horn of Africa.

 

The wars of independence, 1960 and the anti-colonialist complex

 

The reluctant attitudes of the Netherlands and France provoke the wars of independence of Indonesia, Vietnam, and Algeria. Willingly, unwillingly, and under pressure from more or less violent protests, France is negotiating with Morocco and Tunisia, while peaceful processes are continuing in the British colonies.

 

Belgium wants to stay away until 1955, does not wake up to the colonial problem until after Bandoeng, and engages until the riots of 1959 in a hesitant policy: on both sides, between Congolese and Belgians, we speak of self-determination, of Belgian-Congolese community around the person of King Baudouin, before the word "independence" is pronounced by the Belgian Sovereign. Independence 'negotiated' at the Round Tables, according to the Belgian thesis, 'conquered' according to the Congolese nationalists.

1960 will be the year of chain independence, generally negotiated on the British side, more or less willingly granted by France and Belgium.

Consequence: the anti-colonialist complex will develop especially in these two countries, which had however worked the most for the benefit of the indigenous populations, while this trauma will be avoided with the English and the Anglo-Saxon community which had eliminated them in America and Australia: good conscience on their side, self-guilt on the other.

The ensuing chaos in the Third World and its impoverishment were the counterparts of the disorder of ideas and the anarchic enrichment of developed countries at the end of the short twentieth century.

 

To read on the subject:


Eric F. Hobsbawn, The Age of Extremes - History of the Short 20th Century
Samuel Huttington, The Clash of Civilizations
Francis Fukuyama, The End of History
Henri Grimal, Decolonization

DÉcolonisation

Le XXe : un siècle trop court pour une trop rapide décolonisation ?

Pour maints historiens et chroniqueurs, ce siècle n'aurait duré que le temps d'une vie humaine : 75 ans, du début de la première guerre mondiale, en 1914, à la chute du mur de Berlin, en 1989. Auparavant, la Belle Epoque du début du siècle n'aurait fait que prolonger un long XIXe, marqué par l'essor de la bourgeoisie sortie gagnante des révolutions sociales et économiques jusqu’à la rupture de la première guerre mondiale. Après 1989, nous sommes entrés dans le siècle de la mondialisation sous l'hégémonie d'une seule superpuissance.

La décolonisation

L'histoire et l'avenir de la décolonisation se situent dans l'évolution qui vient d'être décrite. Elle commence à la fin du court XVIIIe siècle (du décès de Louis XIV et de la fin des absolutismes de droit divin à la Révolution Française) par l'indépendance des Etats-Unis d'Amérique, suivie rapidement par celle des pays latino- américains. En résultent, non pas de rémanentes rancunes contre les anciens dominateurs, mais les trois solidarités issues de la communauté des langues: l'anglo-saxonne, l'hispanique et la portugaise, qui recoupent avec la francophonie et le sionisme les catégories "civilisationnelles " de Huttington. Ces premières décolonisations consolident contradictoirement des colonisations réalisées au prix de l'élimination des cultures autochtones

Le Président Wilson, les Indépendances consuelles et les Mandats

Ainsi le premier message du Président Wilson (1913) et ses Quatorze Points (1918), dont le cinquième prévoyait le règlement consensuel entre administrants et administrés des problèmes coloniaux, suivirent de près la relégation dans des Réserves des derniers Indiens survivants de la conquête de l'Ouest (1890). La contradiction échappait au Président. Pour lui, les idées des Philanthropes et Humanitaristes de la fin du XVIIIe siècle, qui avaient inspiré la Déclaration d'Indépendance des Etats-Unis, étaient inhérentes à la culture américaine, qui pouvait s'affirmer comme exclusive dans son Nouveau Monde dès lors que le problème des Indiens était réglé.

Entre-temps, d'ailleurs, les Britanniques n'avaient-ils pas forcé les Boers d'Afrique du Sud au Grand Trek en les obligeant à s'enfermer dans ces sortes de Réserves ethniques blanches que furent les Etats d'Orange et du Transvaal ?

La création des Mandats par la Société des Nations (1919) s'inscrivit donc dans le cadre des décolonisations consensuelles préconisées par le Président Wilson. Dans le dépeçage de l'empire ottoman, l'Egypte, l'Irak et la Syrie deviennent rapidement indépendantes de commun accord avec la puissance mandataire, la Grande-Bretagne, suivie plutôt de mauvais gré au Liban par la France, qui pressent le déclin de son influence dans les pays arabes.

Mais en Palestine, l'autodétermination n'est pas laissée aux Palestiniens : ils devront accepter l'établissement de vastes colonies juives et, à terme, la création d'un Etat d'Israël, et supporter ainsi les conséquences de la Shoah et de tous les antisémitismes d'Est et d'Ouest.

Aux débris de l'empire allemand en Afrique Noire, Togoland, Cameroun, Ruanda-Urundi, Afrique Orientale, Namibie, dont la maturité politique paraissait moins avancée, les mandataires auront pour tâche de les faire évoluer vers l'autodétermination.

L'absurdité déjà apparente au Moyen-Orient se confirme en Afrique lorsque les territoires sous mandat pourront être gouvernés en fait suivant les mêmes règles et par les mêmes administrations que les Colonies voisines, alors que leurs statuts juridiques et leurs destinées étaient en principe différents.

De la Charte de l'Atlantique à Bandoeng

Le mouvement se poursuit par la Charte anglo-américaine de l'Atlantique (1941), l'indépendance de l'Inde, de Ceylan et de la Birmanie négociées entre la Grande-Bretagne et ses colonies asiatiques, en dehors de tout règlement international sur le statut des territoires dépendants. Les obligations et le contrôle des mandataires sont simplement renforcés. En Afrique, le mandat est transformé en tutelle, ce qui en souligne le caractère temporaire, et l'obligation de mener rapidement les gouvernés à l'état adulte, alors que rien de semblable n'est prévu pour les colonies auxquelles ces territoires sont en fait rattachés. De là naîtra plus tard le problème de la Namibie que l'Afrique du Sud considérera comme relevant de sa souveraineté.

De la Charte de San Francisco sur les Droits de l'Homme, ne sortiront, comme on l'a vu, que des interprétations contradictoires : il en résulta, pour les pays occidentaux, l'obligation de poursuivre des politiques d'autodétermination, qui deviendront d'indépendance après la conférence des non alignés de Bandoeng (1955), et du côté soviétique le maintien et le renforcement de l'empire stalinien.

La France préférera aux indépendances consensuelles des accords d' "association" avec le Vietnam, le Laos et le Cambodge et, à l'égard de l'Afrique Noire, la Conférence de Brazzaville annonciatrice d'une communauté franco- africaine : elle maintient ainsi une hégémonie dans son ancien empire colonial à ce qu'elle imagine être le moindre prix. Mais les Indépendances négociées suivant le schéma anglo-saxon se poursuivent au Soudan, en Jordanie, en Libye et dans la Corne de l'Afrique.

Les guerres d'indépendance, 1960 et le complexe anticolonialiste

Les attitudes réticentes des Pays-Bas et de la France provoquent les guerres d'indépendance de l'Indonésie, du Vietnam et d'Algérie. Bon gré, mal gré, et sous la pression de manifestations plus ou moins violentes, la France négocie avec le Maroc et la Tunisie, tandis que des processus pacifiques se poursuivent dans les colonies britanniques.

La Belgique veut demeurer à l'écart jusqu'en 1955, ne s'éveille au problème colonial qu'après Bandoeng, et s'engage jusqu'aux émeutes de 1959 dans une politique hésitante : de part et d'autre, entre Congolais et Belges, on parle d'autodétermination, de communauté belgo-congolaise autour de la personne du Roi Baudouin, avant que le mot "indépendance" ne soit prononcé par le Souverain belge. Indépendance ‘négociée’ lors des Tables Rondes, suivant la thèse belge, ‘conquise’ suivant les nationalistes congolais.

1960 sera l'année des indépendances en chaîne, négociées en général du côté britannique, accordées de plus ou moins bon gré par la France et la Belgique.

Conséquence : le complexe anticolonialiste se développera surtout dans ces deux pays, qui avaient cependant le plus œuvré en faveur des populations indigènes, tandis que ce traumatisme sera évité aux Anglais et à la communauté anglo-saxonne qui les avait éliminées en Amérique et en Australie : bonne conscience de leur côté, auto-culpabilisation de l'autre.

Le chaos qui s'ensuivit dans le Tiers-Monde et sa paupérisation furent le pendant du désordre des idées et de l'enrichissement anarchique des pays développés à la fin du court XXe siècle.

A lire sur le sujet : 


Eric F. Hobsbawn, L'Age des Extrêmes - Histoire du court XXe siècle
Samuel Huttington, Le Choc des Civilisations
Francis Fukuyama, la Fin de l'Histoire
Henri Grimal, La Décolonisation

Logo_URBA_OK_RVB.png

L'histoire commune façonne les amitiés

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

© 2020 by studio 4 - URBA KBAU