CAN WE TALK ABOUT PATERNALISM?

However, the Belgian system had its peculiarities, which led it to be described as "paternalistic". Belgium having inherited the Congo almost against its will, from a King accused of exploiting his African subjects in an outrageous manner, wanted at all costs to put an end to this bad trial and escape the reproaches addressed to the previous management. It had, moreover, no imperial vocation, preferred to trade rather than to dominate, and, rather than bidding, to attract sympathies conducive to its business and its good international reputation. Dominated by a Catholic bourgeoisie, for her, the cardinal virtues were honesty, family, a good education of children and sound business conduct. When she took over the succession from her King, she felt that she had invested herself with a kind of guardianship: she had to educate her "wards" by giving equal opportunities to all - managing their wealth on their behalf while waiting for them to be able to do so themselves - guaranteeing the primacy of their interests within their country, and being able to reap the fruits of this good management abroad without remorse.

 

The education system should, therefore, make it a priority to ensure access to basic education for all, before gradually opening middle and higher education institutions to the most deserving students in this first cycle. The application of this egalitarian and democratic principle was, however, subject to innumerable exceptions imposed by the "civilizing mission": it was necessary, from the beginning of colonization, to train priests, schoolteachers, medical, technical and administrative staff. The Congo, in addition to general primary education - the most important in Africa - was therefore soon equipped with innumerable seminaries, teacher training colleges, professional schools, medical colleges, and administrative schools. From the fusion of the most advanced came the three Universities. This empirical process was therefore not guided by the elitist bias of other colonial systems, which favored the training of a political and cultural elite acquired from the colonizer, to the detriment of mass education.

 

The management of the assets of the colonized, considered as dependents under guardianship, implied that the product of the management of their wealth - the riches of their soil - should be returned to them in full. Companies were therefore required to "repatriate" the shipment value of exports. They could only benefit from the added value provided by external operations generated by Congolese products: international marketing, sea and air transport, and the processing of raw materials into finished products. However, with regard to this last point, companies were strongly urged to ensure the maximum amount of processing on the spot. Another corollary of asset management was the separation of budgets: no taxes, no revenues.

PEUT-ON PARLER DE PATERNALISME ?

Le système belge avait cependant ses particularités, qui l'ont fait qualifier de "paternaliste". La Belgique ayant hérité du Congo presque contre son gré, d'un Roi accusé d'exploiter ses sujets africains de façon outrancière, voulait à tout prix mettre fin à ce mauvais procès et échapper aux reproches adressés à la gestion antérieure. Elle n'avait au surplus aucune vocation impériale, préférait commercer que dominer et, plutôt que des soumissions, s'attirer de sympathies propres à favoriser ses affaires et sa bonne réputation internationale. Dominée par une bourgeoisie catholique, pour elle les vertus cardinales résidaient dans l'honnêteté, la famille, la bonne éducation des enfants et la saine conduite des entreprises. En reprenant la succession de son Roi, elle s'estima donc investie d'une sorte de tutelle : elle devait éduquer ses "pupilles" en donnant des chances égales à tous - gérer leur patrimoine pour leur compte en attendant qu'ils soient à même de l'assurer eux-mêmes - garantir la primauté de leurs intérêts à l'intérieur de leur pays, et pouvoir recueillir à l'extérieur, sans remords, les fruits de cette bonne gestion.

Le système d'enseignement devait donc en priorité assurer l'accès de tous à l'enseignement fondamental, avant d'ouvrir graduellement aux plus méritants de ce premier cycle les établissements des degrés moyen et, enfin, supérieur. L'application de ce principe égalitaire et démocratique connut toutefois d'innombrables dérogations, imposées par la "mission civilisatrice": il fallut bien, dès le début de la colonisation, former des prêtres, des maîtres d'école, des cadres médicaux, techniques et administratifs. Le Congo, à côté d'un enseignement primaire généralisé - le plus important d'Afrique - fut donc rapidement doté d'innombrables séminaires, écoles normales et professionnelles, écoles supérieures médicales et d'administration. De la fusion des plus avancées sortirent les trois Universités. Ce processus empirique ne fut donc pas guidé par le préjugé élitiste d'autres systèmes de colonisation, pour lesquels il fallait privilégier la formation d'une élite politique et culturelle acquise au colonisateur, au détriment de l'enseignement de masse.

La gestion du patrimoine des colonisés, considérés comme des dépendants sous tutelle, impliquait que le produit de la gestion de leur fortune - les richesses de leur sol - leur revienne intégralement. Les entreprises étaient donc tenues de "rapatrier" la valeur à l'embarquement des exportations. Elles ne pouvaient tirer bénéfice que de la valeur ajoutée apportée par les opérations extérieures générées par les produits congolais : commercialisation internationale, transports maritimes et aériens, transformation de matières premières en produits finis. Encore que, concernant ce dernier point, les entreprises étaient fermement invitées à assurer le maximum de transformations sur place. Un autre corollaire de la gestion patrimoniale était la séparation des budgets : aucune taxe, aucune recette.

Logo_URBA_OK_RVB.png

L'histoire commune façonne les amitiés

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

© 2020 by studio 4 - URBA KBAU