WHY THE RACIAL DESCRIMINATION, THE SEPARATION BETWEEN WHITE AND BLACK CITIES, THE DIFFERENCES OF WAGES?

Racial discrimination is not peculiar to colonial societies: it still prevails all over the world, and in particular in the most developed countries, such as the United States for example. She is irrational, white and black sharing the same "American way of life", recognizing in the same culture and the same patriotism, practicing the same language and the same religions, sharing the same feeling of exercising leadership global, etc…

 

These factors of integration did not exist in colonial society - it is indeed for this reason that it is an outdated social system that is no longer reproducible.

 

But discrimination, unlike that of today, could be explained thereby objective reasons.

 

People of completely different cultures and standards of living suddenly came into contact. Was it conceivable, under these conditions, that the Whites settled down in authority in the midst of the native villages - would they have accepted them moreover? - that both adopt overnight the same uses, the same conceptions, in health matters, for example, the same family, social and educational organizations, the same language and the same religion. No, whites could only settle on the margins of preexisting habitats, to preserve their way of life and that of their black neighbors.

 

Ideally, this situation was certainly bound to change, and we saw indeed some "advanced" settle in the white cities, and traders, especially Portuguese, settle among the blacks. Proof that this discrimination was neither imposed nor intended, as was South African apartheid. Legal provisions punished, much more severely than ours, in Belgium, too obvious expressions of racism.

 

But the evolution towards the mixture of societies and cultures can only be extremely slow if we judge from the examples of North and South America, where after more than four centuries of coexistence societies remain largely separated, and by the Indonesian situations, where Chinese and Malays continue to live side by side, without interpenetrating. In the countries of the Near and Middle East, Arabs, Christians, and Jews also refuse rapprochement, and the example of the Balkans is too close for the anti-colonialists of Europe - at the head of which was the Yugoslav Tito - to still pretend to give lessons to former colonialists.

 

The question of wages reveals the same complexities. Equal pay for equal work. But even today we do not pay the engineer or the assembler who goes abroad to build a factory in China in the same way as the one who stays in the country to do similar work.

 

And the Chinese engineer and editor, who work alongside their expatriate colleagues, do not claim to receive the same remuneration. The differences are moreover much greater than in the ex-colonies where the top of the salary scales of native employees had come to join the bottom of the scales of their European colleagues.

 

The "advanced" - we understand them - would have liked to be simply integrated into white society, both in terms of remuneration, social status, and friendly and social relationships. In principle, they were right, and in terms of personal and friendly relationships, they often had satisfaction. But from a social point of view, an evolution towards complete integration into white society would have deprived blacks of their elites, those precisely who claimed and obtained independence. Assimilation and Independence were contradictory, and each of the communities felt it unconsciously: too much to bond with the Blacks meant for many Whites the end of the colonial regime from which they benefited, and too much to integrate meant for the best of the Blacks to deny their identity, their past, their family and clan solidarity and renounce all pride: they were the first among their own, at what level would they have found themselves among the Whites? They ultimately preferred to be the first to come home, failing to be able to obtain from the Whites the place they considered themselves entitled to obtain from those whom they finally considered, and with good reason, as foreigners.

POURQUOI LA DESCRIMINATION RACIALE, LA SÉPARATION ENTRE LES CITÉS BLANCHES ET NOIRES, LES DIFFÉRENCES DE SALAIRES ?

La discrimination raciale n'est pas propre aux sociétés coloniales : elle sévit toujours actuellement partout dans le Monde, et en particulier dans les pays les plus développés, comme les Etats-Unis par exemple. Elle y relève de l'irrationnel, Blancs et Noirs partageant le même "american way of life", se reconnaissant dans une même culture et un même patriotisme, pratiquant la même langue et les mêmes religions, partageant le même sentiment d'exercer un leadership mondial etc…

 

Ces facteurs d'intégration n'existaient pas dans la société coloniale - c'est bien d'ailleurs pour cette raison qu'il s'agit d'un système social dépassé et qui n'est plus reproductible.

 

Mais les discriminations, à l'inverse de celles d'aujourd'hui, pouvaient s'y expliquer par des raisons objectives.

 

Des individus de culture et de niveau de vie complètement différents se sont trouvés brusquement en présence. Etait-il concevable, dans ces conditions, que les Blancs s'installent d'autorité au milieu des villages indigènes - ceux-ci les auraient-ils d'ailleurs acceptés ? - que les uns et les autres adoptent du jour au lendemain les mêmes usages, les mêmes conceptions, en matière sanitaire p.ex., les mêmes organisations familiales, sociales et éducatives, la même langue et la même religion. Non, les Blancs ne pouvaient que s'installer en marge des habitats préexistants, pour préserver leur mode vie et celui de leurs voisins noirs.

 

Dans l'idéal, cette situation était certainement appelée à évoluer, et on vit en effet quelques "évolués" s'installer dans les cités blanches, et des commerçants, surtout Portugais, s'établir parmi les Noirs. Preuve que cette discrimination n'était ni imposée ni voulue, comme l'était l'apartheid sud-africain. Des dispositions légales punissaient d'ailleurs, beaucoup plus sévèrement que les nôtres, en Belgique, les expressions trop manifestes du racisme.

 

Mais l'évolution vers le mélange des sociétés et des cultures ne peut être qu'extrêmement lente, si l'on en juge d'après les exemples d'Amérique du Nord et du Sud, où après plus de quatre siècles de cohabitation les sociétés demeurent en grande partie séparées, et par les situations indonésiennes, où Chinois et Malais persistent à vivre côte à côte, sans s'interpénétrer. Dans les pays du Proche et du Moyen Orient, Arabes, Chrétiens et Juifs refusent aussi le rapprochement, et l'exemple des Balkans est trop proche pour que les anticolonialistes d'Europe - en tête desquels se trouvait le yougoslave Tito - puissent encore prétendre donner des leçons aux anciens coloniaux.

 

La question des salaires révèle les mêmes complexités. A travail égal, salaire égal. Mais de nos jours encore on ne paie pas l'ingénieur ou le monteur qui s'expatrie pour construire une usine en Chine de la même façon que celui qui demeure au pays pour y accomplir un travail semblable.

 

Et l'ingénieur et le monteur chinois, qui travaillent à côté de leurs collègues expatriés, ne prétendent pas recevoir la même rémunération. Les différences sont d'ailleurs bien plus grandes que dans les ex-colonies où le sommet des échelles salariales des employés indigènes en était venu à rejoindre le bas des échelles de leurs collègues européens.

 

Les "évolués" - on les comprend - auraient voulu être tout simplement intégrés dans la société blanche, tant au niveau des rémunérations que du statut social et des fréquentations amicales et sociales. Dans les principes, ils avaient raison, et sur le plan des relations personnelles et amicales ils eurent souvent satisfaction. Mais du point de vue social, une évolution vers une intégration complète dans la société blanche aurait privé les Noirs de leurs élites, celles précisément qui réclamèrent et obtinrent l'Indépendance. Assimilation et Indépendance étaient antinomiques, et chacune des communautés le ressentait inconsciemment : trop se lier avec les Noirs signifiait pour beaucoup de Blancs la fin du régime colonial dont ils bénéficiaient, et trop s'intégrer revenait pour les meilleurs des Noirs à renier leur identité, leur passé, leurs solidarités familiales et claniques et renoncer à toute fierté : ils étaient les premiers parmi les leurs, à quel niveau se seraient-ils retrouvés parmi les Blancs ? Ils ont finalement préféré être les premiers chez eux, à défaut d'avoir pu obtenir des Blancs la place qu'ils s'estimaient en droit d'obtenir de ceux qu'ils considérèrent finalement, et avec raison, comme des étrangers.

Logo_URBA_OK_RVB.png

L'histoire commune façonne les amitiés

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

© 2020 by studio 4 - URBA KBAU