HOW DID CONGO TAKE THE WAY OF INDEPENDENCE?

The most delicate problem concerned the "evolved", who felt that they had reached the level of education and instruction of white people. A special status was conferred on them after a survey of their occupations and way of life, which had to be "European" in style. They felt they had the right to be integrated into white society and to be paid accordingly: equal pay for equal work. This meant disregarding the "expatriation bonus" that the foreigners were claiming for their sole benefit. The latter also considered that these children of the country were called upon to remain in their environment, to become the executives and leaders of tomorrow, which is what actually happened: the demands for independence emanated first and foremost from the "evolved" who had taken over the political leadership of their own people.

 

This Belgian colonial system was not considered incompatible with the Charter of the United Nations and the Declaration of Human Rights, to which Belgium had subscribed. Indeed, those documents required the "administering Powers" to lead a process towards eventual self-determination. Self-determination was not independence, and the end of the evolution could be far away. Belgian conceptions were oriented towards the creation of a community with two equal components in law and autonomy freely united under the same sovereign: the immense popularity of King Baudouin, both in the Congo and in Belgium, was an incentive for this. However, this freedom had to be exercised with full knowledge of the facts, which meant that it could not be exercised in the distant future: thirty years for some, closer for the Congolese, but much further away for the majority of Belgians.

 

The demand for independence, rather than autonomy, did not emerge until well after the Bandoeng "Non-Aligned" Conference of 1955. It then became, from the 1959 riots onwards, the issue at stake at the Belgian-Congolese Round Table in Brussels, which ended up aligning itself with the demand for immediate independence formulated by the evolutes.

The above reflects above all the point of view of the whites and, in part, of the evolués. What could, on the other hand, be the state of mind of the Black of the base? Until the fifties, he seemed to accept quite well the paternalistic conception of the Belgians, whom he considered as wealthy "uncles" coming from far away, or "bosses" in principle benevolent and who could, therefore, be treated and solicited with a certain familiarity. There was nothing humiliating about getting donations since they only partly compensated for the considerable gap between living and educational standards and the discrimination that resulted from it. Among these gifts, the French language, reading and writing, and the Christian religion were universally aspired to, for their own merits, but also as signs of "evolution" and as instruments necessary to erase inequalities. It was apparently a great disappointment to see these maintained with respect to those who had acquired these civilized practices. From then on, paternalism, symbolized by the benevolent "tu", was considered humiliating by the more evolved. Contacts with foreign countries revealed, moreover, that the whites were far from being all as wealthy and well-educated as they appeared to be in the Congo.

 

The colonial system was thus questioned at the outset by these mutual misunderstandings, which should have given rise to a social and political debate within new institutions. The establishment of these institutions, delayed by the metropolitan authorities, had barely begun when the Third World, nationalist and Marxist doctrines appeared. These structured the convictions of the leaders and gave their discourse a virulence that they were initially lacking. Above all, they accelerated a normal process of spontaneous decolonization, which should have been able to mature with the mentality. But it was too late: the Belgian Congo could not escape the acceleration of History towards the "liberation" of the colonized peoples, whatever the cost. For the Congo, this price was extraordinarily high: the dilapidation of all the infrastructures, the ruin of the economy and the return to pre-colonial despotism.

COMMENT LE CONGO A-T-IL PRIS LE CHEMIN DE L'INDÉPENDANCE ?

Le problème le plus délicat concernait les "évolués", qui estimaient avoir atteint le niveau d'éducation et d'instruction des blancs. Un statut spécial leur était conféré après enquête sur leurs occupations et leur mode de vie, qui devaient être du style "européen". Ils s'estimaient alors en droit d'être intégrés dans la société des Blancs, et d'être rémunérés en conséquence : à travail égal salaire égal. C'était faire abstraction de la "prime d'expatriation" que les étrangers revendiquaient à leur seul bénéfice. Ces derniers considéraient aussi que ces enfants du pays étaient appelés à rester dans leur milieu, pour en constituer les cadres et les dirigeants de demain, ce qui advint effectivement : les revendications à l'indépendance émanèrent en effet en premier lieu des "évolués" qui avaient pris la direction politique des leurs.

Ce système colonial belge n'était pas jugé incompatible avec la Charte des Nations Unies et la Déclaration des Droits de l'Homme, auxquelles la Belgique avait souscrit. En effet, ces documents imposaient aux "puissances administrantes" de conduire une évolution vers une autodétermination à terme. Autodétermination n'était pas l'indépendance, et le terme de l'évolution pouvait être lointain. Les conceptions belges s'orientaient vers la création d'une communauté à deux composantes égales en droit et autonomes réunies librement sous un même souverain : l'immense popularité du Roi Baudouin, tant au Congo qu'en Belgique, y incitaient. Encore fallait-il que cette liberté puisse s'exercer en connaissance de cause, ce qui en rejetait l'exercice dans un avenir lointain : trente ans pour certains, plus près pour les évolués congolais, mais beaucoup plus loin pour la majorité des Belges.

La revendication d'indépendance, et non plus d'autonomie, n'apparut que bien après la Conférence des "non alignés" de Bandoeng, de 1955. Elle devint alors, à partir des émeutes de 1959, l'enjeu de la Table Ronde belgo-congolaise de Bruxelles, qui finit par s'aligner sur la revendication à l'indépendance immédiate formulée par les évolués.

Ce qui précède reflète surtout le point de vue des Blancs et, en partie, des évolués. Quel pouvait, par contre, être l'état d'esprit du Congolais de la base ? Jusque dans les années cinquante, il paraissait accepter assez bien la conception paternaliste des Belges, qu'il considérait comme des "oncles" fortunés venus de loin, ou des "patrons" en principe bienveillants et qu'on pouvait donc traiter et solliciter avec une certaine familiarité. En obtenir des dons n'avait rien d'humiliant, puisqu'ils ne compensaient qu'en partie l'écart considérable entre les niveaux de vie et d'éducation, ainsi que les discriminations qui en étaient la conséquence. Parmi ces dons, la langue française, la lecture et l'écriture, ainsi que la religion chrétienne étaient universellement ambitionnés, pour leurs mérites propres certes, mais également comme des signes d'"évolution" et des instruments nécessaires pour effacer les inégalités. Grande fut apparemment la déception de voir celles-ci maintenues à l'égard de ceux qui avaient acquis ces pratiques civilisées. A partir de ce moment le paternalisme, symbolisé par le "tu" bienveillant, fut considéré comme humiliant par les plus évolués. Les contacts avec l'étranger révélèrent en outre que les Blancs étaient loin d'être tous aussi fortunés et bien éduqués qu'ils le paraissaient au Congo.

Le système colonial fut ainsi mis en cause au départ de ces incompréhensions mutuelles, qui auraient dû susciter un débat social et politique au sein de nouvelles institutions. La mise en place de celles-ci, retardée par les autorités métropolitaines, avait été à peine entamée lorsque survint l'irruption des doctrines tiers-mondistes, nationalistes et marxisantes. Celles-ci structurèrent les convictions des leaders et conférèrent à leur discours une virulence dont ils étaient initialement dépourvus. Surtout, elles accélérèrent un processus normal de décolonisation spontanée, qui aurait dû pouvoir mûrir avec les mentalités. Mais il était trop tard : le Congo Belge ne pouvait échapper à l'accélération de l'Histoire vers la libération des peuples colonisés, quel qu'en soit le prix. Pour le Congo, ce prix fut extraordinairement élevé : le délabrement de toutes les infrastructures, la ruine de l'économie et le retour au despotisme pré-colonial.

Logo_URBA_OK_RVB.png

L'histoire commune façonne les amitiés

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

© 2020 by studio 4 - URBA KBAU