ABOUT

 

History

The first association of African elders to see the light of day was the Royal African Circle founded on 7 December 1889 and presided over by General Albert Thys, the illustrious creator of the Bas-Congo railway linking Matadi to Leopoldville. The association had two objectives: to maintain between its members a center of patriotism and to develop a center of union, exchange of ideas, documentation, and pleasure. It regularly met at 5 Place Royale, at the Globe Tavern. At the time of its fiftieth-anniversary celebration in 1939, the Royal African Circle had 651 members.

On 1 June 1912, the Royal Belgian Colonial Union was formed in Brussels, which was to federate the circles of veterans of the Independent State of the Congo already created in different parts of the country, as well as the associations that were to follow.

The Royal Belgian Colonial Union was founded with the generous support, first of all of H.M. King Albert I, who personally granted the new organization a large subsidy, then by that of powerful commercial companies and finally by official participation of the Government of the time. The Minister of State Auguste Beernaert, who had been one of the most faithful supporters of King Leopold II, had included in the 1912 budget an extraordinary credit in favor of the new association, which became the owner of the building located at 34 rue de Stassart. Among the founders, apart from Auguste Beernaert, were Jules Renkin, Minister of the Colonies, the Minister of Justice of Landsheere, the deputy Louis Franck who became Minister of the Colonies from 1918 to 1924 and the deputy Frans Van Cauwelaert. The senior committee of the Royal Colonial Union was chaired first by Auguste Beernaert and, after the latter's death, by Gérard Cooreman, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

The Association had several aims: firstly, propaganda in favor of colonial action, then the organisation of conferences, the creation of an information office, the constitution of an African library, the establishment of courses of colonial preparation for all those who were oriented towards colonial careers and for whom no teaching was organised.

As the Federation of Colonial Circles, it concentrated the collective action of the groups and provided them with premises for their activities. On December 18, 1912, the Royal African Circle left the Place Royale to set up its headquarters in rue de Stassart.

While eleven circles had contributed in 1912 to the foundation of the Royal Colonial Union, the latter gathered 52 circles during the celebration of its twenty-fifth anniversary in 1937. It had organized 2,782 conferences, created a library of more than 7,000 volumes, many of which constituted the unique vestiges of disappeared collections or out of print editions, its courses of colonial preparation had been attended by 4,264 students, 88% of whom were surveyors.

After the overseas territories gained independence in the 1960s, the circles opened up to cooperators and the association changed its name to "Union Royale Belge pour les pays d'Outre-Mer": in short Urome.

In 2019, the new management of the association, under the impetus of its President Renier Nijskens and its new Managing Director Baudouin Peeters, organised the first Summer University of the association to rethink its future and ensure its perenniality. Thus, after a democratic and participatory process, the Association was renamed the Royal Belgian African Union - Konijnklijke Belgisch Afrikaanse Unie (abbreviated to URBA-KBAU).

This updating of the statutes with a new name is justified by the evolution of the relations between Belgium, Congo, Rwanda and Burundi and a dimension deliberately adding the future, taking into account the role, sensitivities, and the growing place of the diasporas in these relations. URBA is now open to associations of Congolese, Rwandans, and Burundians who would like to support its mission to strengthen cooperation and friendship between these countries in the respect of their common history and the hope of a mutually satisfying future.

À PROPOS

 

Historique

La première association d'anciens d'Afrique à voir le jour est le Cercle Royal Africain fondé le 7 décembre 1889 et présidé par le général Albert Thys, l'illustre créateur du chemin de fer du Bas-Congo reliant Matadi à Léopoldville. L'association avait deux objectifs: entretenir entre ses membres un foyer de patriotisme et y développer un centre d'union, d'échange d'idées, de documentation et d'agrément. Elle siégeait régulièrement au 5 de la Place Royale, à la taverne du Globe. Lors de la célébration de son cinquantième anniversaire en 1939, le Cercle Royal africain comptait 651 membres.

Le 1er juin 1912 se constituait à Bruxelles, la Royale Union Coloniale Belge qui allait fédérer les cercles de vétérans de l'Etat Indépendant du Congo déjà créés dans différentes localités du pays, ainsi que les associations qui allaient suivre.

La Royale Union Coloniale Belge fut fondée avec le concours généreux, d'abord de S.M. le Roi Albert I qui accorda personnellement au nouvel organisme une large subvention, ensuite par celui de puissantes sociétés commerciales et enfin par une participation officielle du Gouvernement de l'époque. Le Ministre d'Etat Auguste Beernaert, qui avait été l'un des plus fidèles soutiens du Roi Léopold II, avait fait inscrire au budget de 1912 un crédit extraordinaire en faveur de la nouvelle association qui devenait propriétaire de l'immeuble sis au 34 rue de Stassart. Parmi les fondateurs, outre Auguste Beernaert, on découvre notamment les noms de Jules Renkin, Ministre des Colonies, le Ministre de la Justice de Landsheere, le député Louis Franck qui deviendra Ministre des Colonies de 1918 à 1924 et le député Frans Van Cauwelaert. Le comité supérieur de la Royale Union Coloniale sera présidé d'abord par Auguste Beernaert et, après le décès de ce dernier, par Gérard Cooreman, président de la Chambre des Représentants.

L'Association s'était donné plusieurs buts : d'abord la propagande en faveur de l'action coloniale, ensuite l'organisation de conférences, la création d'un office de renseignements, la constitution d'une bibliothèque africaine, l'instauration de cours de préparation coloniale pour tous ceux qui s'orientaient vers les carrières coloniales et pour qui aucun enseignement n'était organisé.

En qualité de Fédération des cercles coloniaux, elle concentrait l'action collective des groupements et leur fournissait des locaux pour leurs activités. Le 18 décembre 1912, le Cercle Royal Africain quittait la Place Royale pour installer, lui aussi, son siège rue de Stassart.

Alors que onze cercles avaient contribué en 1912 à la fondation de la Royale Union Coloniale, cette dernière en rassemblait 52 lors de la célébration de son vingt-cinquième anniversaire en 1937. Elle avait organisé 2.782 conférences, créé une bibliothèque de plus de 7.000 volumes dont beaucoup constituaient les vestiges uniques de collections disparues ou d'éditions épuisées, ses cours de préparation coloniale avaient été suivis par 4.264 élèves parmi lesquels 88 % des géomètres arpenteurs.

Après l’accession des territoires d’Outre-Mer à l’indépendance dans les années 60, les cercles se sont ouverts aux coopérants et l’association changea de nom pour s’appeler « Union Royale Belge pour les pays d’Outre-Mer » : en abrégé Urome.

En 2019, la nouvelle direction de l’association, sous l’impulsion de son Président Renier Nijskens et de son nouvel administrateur-délégué Baudouin Peeters ont organisé la première Université d’Eté de l’association pour repenser son avenir et assurer sa pérennité. C’est ainsi qu’au terme d’un processus démocratique et participatif, l’Association a été renommée "Union Royale Belgo Africaine – Koninklijke Belgisch Afrikaanse Unie" (en abrégé URBA-KBAU).

Cette mise à jour des statuts avec une nouvelle dénomination se justifie par l’évolution des relations entre la Belgique, le Congo, le Rwanda et le Burundi et une dimension ajoutant délibérément l’avenir, en tenant compte du rôle, des sensibilités, et de la place croissante des diasporas dans ces relations. L’URBA est dès à présent ouverte aux associations de Congolais, Rwandais et Burundais qui souhaiteraient appuyer sa mission pour renforcer la coopération et l’amitié entre ces pays dans le respect de leur histoire commune et l’espérance d’un avenir mutuellement satisfaisant.

Logo_URBA_OK_RVB.png

L'histoire commune façonne les amitiés

  • LinkedIn Social Icône

© 2020 by studio 4 - URBA KBAU